April 4, 2006 – New application forms for a Holocaust compensation
payment from the Hungarian government are now available, and will be
accepted through July 31, 2006.

The Hungarian government announced the re-opening of the compensation
program at the meeting in Budapest last month of the Conference on
Jewish Material Claims Against Germany (Claims Conference).
Information in English, Hungarian, and Hebrew will be on the website of
the Claims Conference,
Application forms are available on the website of the Hungarian Central
Restitution Bureau,, or by writing to the bureau at
Kozponti Karrendezesi Iroda, 1116 Budapest, Hauszmann Alajos utca 1. The
telephone number is +36-1-371-8900; email is
The material on the Claims Conference website is for information
purposes only. This program is administered by the Hungarian government
and the official information and application form is provided by the
Hungarian Central Restitution Bureau.
In 1997, the government of Hungary established a compensation program
for Holocaust survivors and victims’ relatives, which was originally to
pay approximately $150 for each parent killed during the Holocaust and
$70 for each sibling (“Compensation for Loss of Life by Political
Persecution”). Following efforts to raise the amount of compensation,
the Hungarian government provided acknowledgement payments of around
$1,800 (400,000 forints) per deceased to be divided among any surviving
parents, spouses, children or siblings.
However, this increased payment was limited to those survivors and
relatives of Holocaust victims who had already applied for the original
payment announced in 1997. The application period had been between June
and October 1997. There were many relatives of Holocaust victims who did
not apply during this initial four-month filing period.
The Claims Conference and WJRO continuously pressed the Hungarian
government to re-open the claims process so that more victims’ relatives
could apply for the increased compensation. The Hungarian government has
now enacted Act XLVII of 2006, opening the claim period to new
applications for four months.