HOUSTON, TX (June 5, 2009) – Holocaust Museum Houston has elected Houston attorney Michael S. Goldberg as chairman of its Board of Directors and added five members to its Executive Committee.

Goldberg, the son of a Holocaust survivor and a native Houstonian, has served as chair-elect of the Museum for the past two years and served on its Board since July 2005. He will serve a two-year term as the Museum’s chair.

Goldberg is a senior trial partner at Baker Botts, L.L.P., with extensive trial experience in complex commercial and international arbitration matters. He is chair of the firm’s international dispute resolution section. During more than 25 years of practice, Goldberg has served as lead counsel in litigation matters as diverse as antitrust, banking, bankruptcy, commercial, corporate acquisitions, defamation, discrimination, energy, ERISA, intellectual property, partnership, premises liability, products liability, qui tam and real estate.

Goldberg also has served as general counsel for professional sports teams such as the NBA’s Houston Rockets and as a council member of the Council of Legal Opportunities, an organization that works with minority and low-income students to help them prepare for and attend law school. He has been a frequent commentator on international legal issues in articles published by The New York Times, International Herald Tribune, Dow Jones Newswire, Reuters News Service, MarketWatch, Global Arbitration Review, Latin Lawyer and Energy Law360.

Other officers elected for the coming year include Butch Mach and Peter N. Berkowitz as vice chairs for development, Tali Blumrosen as vice chair for administration, Gail Klein as vice chair for education and Mark Mucasey as vice chair for the Museum. R. Edwin Allday will serve as treasurer and Andrew Bursten as secretary.

In addition to Goldberg and the vice chairs, John F. Thrash, M.D., Amb. Arthur Schechter and Velva G. Levine have been elected to the Museum’s Executive Committee. Other members for 2009-2010 include past Museum Chairs Joel Spira, Walter Hecht, Eileen D. Weisman and Martin Fein, along with Ruth Steinfeld, Chaja Verveer, Nancy S. Dinerstein, Marvin Kaplan, Richard J. Loewenstern and Soraya McClelland.

Newly elected members to the Museum’s Board of Directors include Kathy Berkman, Natasha Bleyzer, Walter Finger, Nancy Freed, Cheryl Golub, Leisa Holland-Nelson, Sandy Lessig, Carol Linn, Gary Taylor and Donna Vallone.

New members of the Museum’s Advisory Board include Linda L. Addison; Milton Boniuk, M.D.; Debra G. Cohen; Martha Freedman; Daniel P. Gordon; Gary Markowitz; Leon Mucasey; Eric J. Pulaski; Eileen Reed; Benjamin Warren and Naomi Warren