The State of Israel this year, 2010, holds the Chairmanship of the International Task Force for International Cooperation on Holocaust Education, Remembrance, and Research (ITF). The ITF is an intergovernmental organization and consists of representatives of governments as well as non-governmental organizations. Its purpose is to place political and social leaders’ support behind the need for Holocaust education, remembrance, and research both nationally and internationally. Mr. Dan Tichon, formerly the Speaker of the Knesset, is the current Chair of the ITF. This year, the Task Force is celebrating its 10th anniversary year, and will hold its second annual plenary between December 13-16, 2010 in Haifa. Initiated by then Swedish Prime Minister Göran Persson in 1998, the Task Force currently has 27 member countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. The chairmanship of the ITF is rotated between member states annually.